How Does World Health Organization Define Well-being

The World Health Organization (WHO) defines well-being as “a state of complete physical, mental, and social health, not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.”

This definition is much broader than the common conception of well-being as simply being “healthy.”

WHO’s definition encompasses all aspects of a person’s health, including their physical, mental, and social health.

This definition is important because it recognizes that a person’s health is not just the absence of disease or infirmity but is a state of complete physical, mental, and social health.

As stated in the constitution of the WHO, “health is not only the absence of sickness or infirmity.” Instead, “health” refers to “a condition of complete physical, mental, and social well-being.”

The fact that the absence of mental diseases or impairments is insufficient to qualify as mental health is a significant conclusion that stems from this definition of the term.

The 5 pillars of wellbeing are:

1. Physical wellbeing
2. Mental wellbeing
3. Emotional wellbeing
4. Social wellbeing
5. Spiritual wellbeing

The WHO 5 Well-Being Index

The WHO-5 Well-Being Index is a questionnaire that examines an individual’s present mental health (within the context of the most recent two weeks).

This five-question version was originally created to measure both positive and negative aspects of well-being. However, in order to minimize language connected to symptoms, this version solely uses favorably framed questions.

However, when viewed in its most comprehensive context, well-being comprises not just the bodily and mental spheres but also the social sphere.

Why health and wellbeing is important?

According to the research, a better sense of wellbeing has been proven to be related to enhanced physical advantages, such as fewer occurrences of cardiovascular disease, stroke, and sleeping disorders, as well as increased productivity and creativity in both professional and personal life 4, according to research.

Both observable factors, such as employment, and factors that are subjective to the person experiencing them, such as how safe they feel, can be used to measure someone’s level of wellbeing.

Charities and social enterprises have an effect on the wellbeing of the people and, in most cases, the communities they work with.

7 Areas of Wellness

The term “wellness” refers to a multifaceted concept that is often broken down into seven subcategories: mental, physical, social, financial, spiritual, environmental, and occupational.

These aspects are dependent on one another and have an effect on one another. When one facet of our well-being isn’t functioning as it should, it ripples through to the others and affects them.

The Foresight Project on Mental Capital and Wellbeing in the United Kingdom provided the basis for the New Economics Foundation’s development of the Five Ways to Wellbeing, which were produced using the evidence obtained from the project.

The Project, which was first released in 2008, made use of the most recent findings from research on mental capital and mental wellness throughout one’s lifetime.

The Four Areas of Well Being

  • Spiritual Wellness. Spiritual strength is that force that drives us to make sacrifices for others, our nation, and the greater good
  • Emotional Wellness. Emotional wellness refers to building an awareness of and accepting one’s feelings and moods
  • Physical Wellness
  • Social Wellness.

The WHOQOL is an evaluation of quality of life that was produced by the WHOQOL Group in conjunction with fifteen worldwide field centres at the same time.

This was done in an effort to establish a quality of life assessment that would be useful in a variety of cultural contexts.

WHO: Who Developed the WHO 5?

The Five Well-Being Index, often known as the WHO-5, is a quick self-reported measure of an individual’s present mental health.

In 1998, as part of the DEPCARE project on well-being measures in primary health care, the measure was initially presented in its current form for the first time.

This was accomplished by the WHO Regional Office in Europe.

Utilizing self-reported questionnaires is by far and away the most popular and successful strategy for determining a person’s psychological well-being.

Any all-encompassing study of employee happiness in the workplace has to investigate the extent to which individuals have a constructive sense of purpose in their professional lives (eudaimonic PWB).

What are the 6 different types of wellbeing?

The Six Dimensions of Wellness are advocated for by the National Wellness Institute, which is comprised of the following: emotional, occupational, physical, social, intellectual, and spiritual.

When we take care of ourselves on all six fronts of wellbeing, we create a more complete and satisfying feeling of wholeness and contentment in our lives.

Created by the late Dr. Diener, who

conceptualized it in 1984 and postulated that there are “three separate but frequently connected components of wellbeing: frequent positive affect, infrequent negative affect, and cognitive assessments such as life satisfaction.”

There are three categories of contributors to one’s subjective well-being: cognitive, emotional, and contextual.

Elements of Wellbeing

It is essential that we have a holistic perspective on our lives in order to ensure our general health and well-being.

Our mental health, physical health, spiritual health, and the quality of the environment all play an important part in our overall well-being (including our relationships).

The term “wellbeing” refers to the sum total of an individual’s mental, psychological, social, emotional, and spiritual states.

How many pillars are there under wellness?

Santa Clara Law is committed to the active process of developing the potential of all members of its community in each of these eight pillars of wellness, which are as follows: physical, social, emotional, occupational, financial, spiritual, and intellectual.

This commitment was inspired by the Jesuit value of cura personalis, which translates to “care of the whole person.”

The bottom line

A questionnaire called the WHO-5 Well-Being Index is used to evaluate an individual’s current state of mental health. A person’s social life is an integral part of their overall wellbeing, in addition to their physical and mental health.

When one component of our health isn’t working as it should, the effects are felt in the other areas of our wellbeing as well.

The WHO-5 consists of five quick self-reported measures of an individual’s current mental health. The National Wellness Institute promotes the well-being of individuals by focusing on the six dimensions of wellness.

When we take care of ourselves across all six dimensions of wellbeing, we produce an experience that is more comprehensive and gratifying for ourselves.


You May Also Like